Have you parked here before?

IMG_0166-1

Text added on 26 January 2013:

Bosham.

The tourist shop up the road has post cards showing frantic people trying to rescue their waterlogged cars. Despite the clear warning signs.

Why do we do this to ourselves? Is it because the parking lot up the road is too expensive? Or do we think the tide will wait while we finish our cup of tea? Honestly I don’t know, but if you live around here you’ve probably been caught out, just like me. Luckily I rushed back just as the water was lapping at the door sills of my car and the only damage sustained was my injured pride.

But we do this sort of thing don’t we. Picture the kingfisher sitting on the “no fishing” sign. He couldn’t care less, because this river belongs to him. We plonk our ill-advised ideas down right under the warning signs. As if the beach belongs to us, and perhaps this time we can stop the tide.

Actually, I like that about the human race. We take risks, we don’t always consider the consequences, and generally get away with it.

So do join me! There’s a reasonable chance your feet will stay dry.

12 Comments

    1. Lekkerjeuk, as jy my ken, kontak my dan asseblief privaat.
      Edit – @Lekkerjeuk, I finally found your blog, so now I understand your cloak of anonymity.

  1. Yes, Gideon, ‘I am with you alway’ (No spelling error!) Loved this blog. Refreshingly transparent and easy to read. Some interesting subtleties. Is that one of your photos? Bosham? I know it well. I once had to wade out to my car there to rescue it from an incoming tide. Fortunately it wasn’t up to the door cills, though I have watched many cars be written off in that spot! The Trail – yes, you’ll be there soon. As always, enjoy the journey to the journey, as well as the journey(?!?) Santiago itself – well you’ve been there so will know there are better cities!

    1. Yes, it’s Bosham, and I’ve had the same experience. I got my car out just in the nick of time, with the water lapping at the door sills.
      Santiago is ok. Each city has its own charm. And fond memories of course.

  2. The running of the race seems like the running of the bulls – absurd to those watching, exhilarating to us running. When we stumble and fall, the near misses force us to doubt whether it has been worth it to be here. Then we see the horns approaching a neighbor; we swoop them up to safety. We can because we’re here. I’ll be in Pamplona in a few weeks for the first time. Again. Buen Camino.

Leave a Reply

